16th Annual Entergy-City of Monroe Scholarship Scramble Golf Tournament

Monday, April 23, 2018 - 2:30pm

2018 Scholarship Recipients Announced 

The 16th Annual Entergy-City of Monroe Community Service Scholarship Scramble Golf Tournament will be held Friday, May 4th at Chennault Park Golf Course, located at 8475 Millhaven Road. Including our 2018 scholarship recipients, 185 students will have been awarded a total of $92,500 in scholarship money (all private dollars). One lucky golfer may win a Lee Edwards Mazda "Hole-In-One" Prize! We also give special thanks to Coca-Cola and Marsala Beverage for their sponsorship. 

Tee time for the four-man scramble will be at 1pm. Registration is $100 per player ($400 per team). Lunch will be served at 11:30 am. Sponsorships are welcome! Awards will be given for 1st, 2nd, & 3rd place, Best Team Name and Dead Last! 

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: Registration forms can be picked up at Chennault Park Golf Course, or printed from the City of Monroe website at www.monroela.us 

Please FAX or EMAIL registration forms to Melissa Thaxton @ 318-329-4944 OR melissa.thaxton@ci.monroe.la.us by Thursday, April 26, 2018. 

School officials have already selected a male and female scholarship winner that met the following requirements: 

  1. Be a graduating senior 
  2. Live within Monroe City limits 
  3. Have a minimum 3.0 GPA 
  4. Have a minimum 21 ACT score 
  5. Perform acts of community service 
  6. Write an essay about the importance of community service 
  7. Attend a Louisiana College or University 

Mayor Jamie Mayo comments, “Thanks to the ongoing support from Entergy, Community Outreach of Ouachita, and the local business community, we have, once again been blessed to award these $500 scholarships to graduating high school seniors who will be attending Louisiana colleges and universities. This corporate and community support allows us to reward deserving students who have excelled in the classroom and in the field of community service.” 

We are proud to announce our 2018 Scholarship Recipients:

Joyce B. Jiles Carroll High School 
Jalen Gray Carroll High School 
Alexandra Sanderson Neville High School 
Jordan Grant Neville High School 
William E. Smith, II Ouachita Christian School 
Ashley Nugent River Oaks High School 
Hallie Gurba St. Frederick High School 
Samuel C. Guillory St. Frederick High School 
Indya J. Lusk Wossman High School 
Roderick Mott Wossman High School 


Our 2018 scholarship recipients will be recognized at their individual school awards assemblies, and at a banquet held especially for them, their family, and school officials at the Monroe Convention Center, 6 pm, Thursday, May 3.