City Council

District Map

City Council Districts by Street

The council consist of 5 members elected from districts, one from and by the qualified electors in each district. Each member of the council is elected for a four (4) year term concurrent with that of the mayor and shall be eligible for re-election. The council member shall be a qualified elector of the municipality and of the district from which elected.

The City of Monroe City Council meets at 6:00 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month. If the 2nd or 4th Tuesday falls on a holiday, a date change will be made and the media is informed of the date change. The City Council operates under the City Charter adopted by the citizens of Monroe.

The Council enacts policies, adopts ordinances and resolutions, establishes the annual budget to provide services to the public, and sets the city tax rate, and water, electric and wastewater rates for the City of Monroe. All Council meetings are open to the public. Citizens are encouraged to attend and participate in City Government!

City Council Members

Monroe City Council Members Louisiana

city of monroe council Councilman Douglas “Doug” Harvey Councilman Douglas “Doug” Harvey City of Monroe Council District 1
Gretchen Ezernack monroe city council member Councilwoman Gretchen Ezernack City of Monroe Council District 2
Juanita G. Woods - city council members Monroe, Louisiana Councilwoman Juanita G. Woods City of Monroe Council District 3
Councilman Carday Marshall, Sr. in monroe, la Councilman Carday Marshall, Sr. City of Monroe Council District 4
Kema Dawson monroe city council member Councilwoman Kema Dawson City of Monroe Council District 5